Posts Tagged ‘Rajya Sabha’

With RS elections round the corner, the entire focus is on whether or not K V P Ramachandra Rao, CM’s buddy will get a berth in the Upper House Hectic lobbying has begun in the State Congress for the biennial elections to Rajya Sabha scheduled to be held on March 26. Political analysts are keenly watching whether Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy will succeed in getting the Rajya Sabha berth to his friend, guide and advisor K V P Ramachandra Rao at least this time.

KVP has been unlucky since 2002 in getting a Rajya Sabha ticket, despite best efforts by Rajasekhara Reddy. In 2002, when the Congress was in the Opposition, T Subbarami Reddy managed to get the RS ticket, thanks to his manipulative skills. In 2004, after the Congress came to power in the State, KVP tried his luck again and YSR, too, lobbied with the high command very strongly. Yet, they could not succeed in convincing the high command and the chance went to media baron Girish Kumar Sanghi and Senior Congress leader V Hanumantha Rao among others. It was only after, that the Chief Minister appointed KVP as his Advisor (Public Affairs) and bestowed him with all powers. In 2006, it was bad luck again for KVP to miss the bus at the last moment, as Sonia Gandhi preferred the then PCC president K Kesava Rao and INTUC president G Sanjeeva Reddy, besides re-nominating Dasari Narayana Rao.

This time, the CM is using all his energies to get the RS ticket to his pal. When he met Sonia Gandhi recently, she asked him to accommodate senior leader Motilal Vohra in Andhra Pradesh quota for Rajya Sabha. And YSR apparently told her that he had no objection to accommodate anybody of her choice, but requested that she consider KVP’s name for RS seat at least this time. She is learnt to have given an assurance to that effect.

Even as YSR was lobbying for KVP, his close relative Y V Subba Reddy is said to be bringing pressure on him for the RS ticket. And without waiting for YSR’s support, Subba Reddy is camping in New Delhi to make an attempt on his own. YSR’s another close friend and PCC treasurer P Pratap Reddy is also in the ticket race.

On the other hand, T Subbarami Reddy and Nandi Yellaiah, whose terms will expire this time, are said to be trying for a second term in the Rajya Sabha. Gandhi Bhavan sources say their re-nomination is unlikely, as Sonia wants them to contest the Lok Sabha elections. TSR’s nephew and Deccan Chronicle group chairman T Venkatrami Reddy, who could not make it to the RS in the last three attempts, stand bright chances this time, sources said.

TD would be losing four RS seats and getting only one seat because of its truncated strength in the Assembly. And for this one seat, there are several contenders including the outgoing candidates Ravula Chandrasekhar Reddy, Aakarapu Sudershan, N C Durga and Lal Jan Basha and seniors like Ummareddy Venkateshwarlu, Kambhampati Rammohan Rao and Nannapaneni Rajakumari. Indications are that Kambhampati might get the nod from TD president N Chandrababu Naidu.

The CPI-M and CPI got their quota in 2004 and 2006 respectively, as part of an alliance with the Congress. This time, the Congress would not spare any seat for others.


Read Full Post »